JRF’s #38 – The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

When knights of the realm take breaks from writing detective mysteries, they write genre defining adventure stories – stories like the Lost World.

The Lost World introduces one of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s lesser known protagonists, Professor Challenger.  Challenger is an eccentric academic who claims to have evidence that deep in the South American Rainforest exists a land isolated from time, a land where dinosaurs and other unknown beasts still roam.  To defend his honor and prove his claim he assembles a team of hunters, skeptics and colleagues.  What follows is a classic adventure of the first order.

Now if any of that sounds cliche or familiar (including the title) it is simply because Sir A.C.D. has influenced, inspired, and been borrowed from by many generations of writers since, not least of which is Michael Crichton who admits as much in the forward to this edition.

This book is a classic for a reason.  Highly enjoyable epic in the vein of L. Rider Haggard, Edgar Rice Burroughs and John Buchan.

About JRF 145 Articles
A broken sinner saved by the gracious work of Jesus Christ. Husband to the greatest woman of all time. Seriously. Father of 2-4 children (we're in the process of adoption). Navy chaplain. I enjoy surfing, SCUBA, basketball, and exploring. I also like to read and write and want to get better at both.

3 Comments on JRF’s #38 – The Lost World by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

  1. Hi, I googled beeginnr camera classes Billings, MT and your previous class showed up. So I am emailing to inquire about if you might have another class coming up or if you are up for some private hire/tutoring!??!I’m desperate! I think I love photography, but as soon as I try and take a photo I get incredibly discouraged and walk away pouting. I don’t want to be the girl that forever uses her fancy DSLR camera in auto mode. I’d love any help!Thanks so much. Happy Holidays!-Sarah Barkie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*